Hollow

Image result for life challenges

“Happiness is not the absence of problems; it’s your ability to deal with them.” ~ Steve Maraboli

So what to do when life gets rough?

It is easy, and yes I do understand when you focus on your situation, worry, get angry, and feel heartache. But we have to zoom out of the issue; to see a broader view. We have to always remind yourself; “It’s going to be ok. It’s not the end of the world.” And sometimes, it’s an important skill to learn how to encourage yourself. Because if you don’t believe that things are going to improve, then what will be your outlook on your life? What has helped me through challenges is telling myself: “Act like this state of your life is temporary. This too shall pass away.”

***

This piece is dedicated to those going through tough times. Whether it be losing your job, a loved one, waiting for a job, broken relationships, guilt, regrets, etc. Every event is a teacher, so see what you can get out of it.

***

I felt a sudden wave

An energy like

Someone struck an object

An echo of pressure through my feet

 

I felt absent

A void caved deep

In this fragile substance of life

Covered in dismay

 

I felt lost

Beneath my thoughts

In spite of all my actions

On this journey

Broken by circumstances

That seems far from control

Shaken by events

That toil with my emotions

 

I felt tired

Faint by the burden

Weary by the tension

Uneasy by pain

 

But each day

The space within my chest

Containing air

Mixing with blood

 

Yells in the silence

To remind me

Of life with purpose

Anchored with passion

 

To say thanks

For a second chance

Another day

To begin my craft anew

 

©Kihek

2 thoughts on “Hollow

Leave a Reply

